Trust Over 90 Years Of Experience

What are the marijuana possession penalties in Mississippi?

On Behalf of | Oct 16, 2020 | Firm News |

Marijuana has been decriminalized to some extent in Mississippi, but it is not legalized. The National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Law states that if you are caught for the first time with less than 30 grams, it will most likely be treated similarly to a minor traffic offense, and you could be fined up to $250.

Subsequent marijuana offenses or possession of more than 30 grams, however, can potentially land you with a misdemeanor or worse.

Misdemeanor possession penalties

The second time you are caught with less than 30 grams, you could be charged with a misdemeanor and may be fined up to $250. You may also be incarcerated for a period ranging from five to 60 days.

Your third misdemeanor marijuana offense raises the maximum fine to $1,000 and the maximum sentence to six months. Also keep in mind that even if you have less than 30 grams and it is your first offense, you could be charged with a misdemeanor if marijuana is found in any part of your vehicle besides the trunk.

Felony possession penalties

If you are caught with any amount of marijuana in excess of 30 grams, you could be charged with a felony. If you have between 30 and 250 grams, you could be fined $1,000 and may face anywhere from one to three years in prison.

The penalties increase on a sliding scale depending on how much marijuana police find. The maximum penalties could apply if you are found with 5 kilograms or more, and these can include a fine of up to $1,000,000 and a prison sentence ranging from ten to 30 years.