If you become injured at work or develop a work-related illness, you can apply for workers’ compensation in Mississippi. This program covers the cost of medical bills, lost wages and other related expenses if you qualify.
Review the state laws about Mississippi workers’ compensation to get started.
Qualifying for benefits
Your employer must carry workers’ compensation insurance if they have at least five employees on staff. This type of policy pays the expenses associated with a qualifying illness or injury regardless of fault.
To be eligible, you must notify your employer about the injury or illness within 30 days of the accident or diagnosis. You have up to two years to file for benefits, however.
Your employer must notify the Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Commission if you miss five days of work because of your injury or illness.
Workers’ compensation covers the following injury or illness-related costs:
- Permanent total disability, which pays about 66% of your average weekly wage for up to 450 weeks if you cannot return to any type of employment
- Permanent partial disability, which covers a gap in earnings caused by the injury or illness
- Temporary partial disability, which temporarily covers a gap in earnings caused by the injury or illness
- Medical expenses, including necessary, reasonable treatments, devices, surgeries and medications for the injury or illness
You can see your own medical provider for care when you receive workers’ compensation benefits in Mississippi. If your employer or their insurance company denies your claim, you have the right to file an appeal with the state WCC.